Insurance · Credentialing & paneling

What credentialed, paneled, in-network, and contracted mean

Six words clinicians use as one.

By Eric Richers, LPC, CADC III Updated 9 min read Lesson 2 of 5 in Insurance

This lesson sorts out six words that get used as if they were one: credentialed, enrolled, contracted, paneled, in-network, and out-of-network. Each one names a different step between finishing your license and a client's insurance actually paying you. I wrote it for grad students and new Oregon clinicians who keep hearing "get credentialed" and want to know what, precisely, they are being told to do. The next lesson walks through the paperwork itself. Sources are listed at the end, each with the date I read it.

Why the words blur

In a break room, "I'm credentialed with that plan" usually means "that plan pays me." In the payer's building the same word means something narrower: a committee checked your license and history. The gap matters, because a clinician can clear one step and assume the rest happened. Nothing happened. The claims come back denied, and the denial says nothing about which step was skipped.

One caveat up front. The consumer glossaries at HealthCare.gov and CMS define "network" and "network provider," but neither defines "credentialing." That word lives in industry standards, mainly those written by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA), in Oregon's rules for coordinated care organizations, and in the systems run by CAQH, so the definitions below come from those sources rather than from a government glossary.

Credentialing is verification

NCQA, whose standards most health plans follow, describes credentialing as a detailed review of a practitioner's qualifications before they join a network: license, education, sanction history, malpractice history. It is a background check with a committee at the end. Oregon's rule for coordinated care organizations, OAR 410-141-3510, says what the check must include: a review of any information in the National Practitioner Data Bank, screening to be in compliance with 42 CFR 455 Subpart E, and a repeat "within three (3) years." Commercial plans run the same three-year cycle under NCQA's standards; NCQA's public pages describe the review without printing the interval, so the number here comes from the Oregon rule and from the CCO packets I have filled in, which say three years in so many words.

It is a formal enough process that NCQA accredits organizations that do it and separately certifies organizations that only verify credentials for others. When a payer says you are credentialed, they mean this review is done. They do not necessarily mean anything else.

Enrollment is the payer's paperwork

CAQH, the company behind the shared credentialing profile most commercial payers pull from (now doing business as DataSpring), defines credentialing as "a regulated process of assessing the qualifications of specific types of providers," and adds that a provider "has to complete this process with every health plan they want to enroll with." Enrollment is the other half of that sentence: the administrative application that adds you to a particular payer's system. CAQH's page runs the two words together, which is how most people say it; the government programs keep them apart.

The word is used most precisely for the government programs. Medicare enrollment runs through a CMS system called PECOS, not through CAQH. Oregon Health Plan enrollment runs through Oregon Health Authority forms, and OAR 410-120-1260 names the four pieces: an enrollment request, its attachment, a disclosure statement, and a provider enrollment agreement. A commercial plan may fold enrollment into its contracting paperwork, which is one reason people stop noticing it as a separate step.

Contracting, and paneling, are what make you in-network

HealthCare.gov's glossary entry for "network" defines it as the providers and facilities a plan has contracted with. The federal Uniform Glossary that ACA plans must use says the same thing from the other direction: a network provider is one "who has a contract with your health insurer or plan," and an out-of-network provider is one "who doesn't have a contract with your plan to provide services." Oregon's statute book agrees. ORS 743B.280 defines an in-network service as one "performed by a provider or provider group that has directly contracted with the insurer," and out-of-network as one by a provider that "has not contracted or has indirectly contracted." The word that matters in both definitions is contract.

So "in-network" is a contract question, not a credentialing question. You become in-network when the plan signs a participation agreement with you and lists you. "Paneled" is the everyday word for that same event: the plan's provider list is the panel, and being on it is being paneled. You will not find "paneled" in a glossary; it is trade slang for contracted and listed.

Out-of-network is the default. Every clinician is out-of-network with every plan until a contract says otherwise. A client can still see you and file their own claim, depending on their plan's rules, but the glossary definition is simply the absence of a contract.

Credentialed, and still not paid

Put the steps in order and the failure mode is obvious. The payer credentials you (verifies). The payer enrolls you (loads you into its system). The payer contracts with you (signs the agreement and opens the panel). A clinician who has cleared the first step has a committee's approval and no way to bill. A clinician who has cleared the second has a record in a system and no agreed rate. Only the third step turns a client's "do you take my insurance" into "yes."

Two more things follow from the order. Recredentialing every three years does not touch your contract, and a contract can end without your credentials changing at all. The two run on separate clocks. The payer contacts lesson on this site lists where to start those clocks with Oregon's payers.

My own contract packets read the same way once I knew the order. One commercial payer's welcome letter laid it out as three events: credentialing approved, then a countersigned agreement, then a provider identifier for claims, with the directory listing following the contract rather than the credentialing decision. Another payer's contract documents warned that claims with dates of service before the contract's effective date would be processed as out-of-network, and that a long delay in signing could send the file back through credentialing. Both letters were describing the table below from the payer's side of the desk.

What Oregon law makes a commercial insurer do once you apply

Oregon put a clock on the wait. ORS 743B.454 defines a complete application as the insurer's own information request plus proof of your license, DEA registration if you have one, and proof of professional liability coverage. From the day the insurer receives that complete application, a "credentialing period" runs until the insurer decides or until 90 days pass, whichever comes first, and the insurer "shall approve or reject a complete application" within those 90 days. During the credentialing period the insurer must let you submit claims and must pay them, though the statute allows a non-participating rate, and claims you send within six months after the period cannot be denied for lateness.

The 2025 Legislature added to that section. House Bill 3242 (2025 Oregon Laws chapter 126) says that a provider joining a group that is already in-network is paid at the group's in-network rate during the credentialing period, that the group repays the difference if the application turns out incomplete or fails, and that the insurer must tell the provider within 90 days if the application is incomplete. The bill takes effect on the 91st day after the session adjourned, which by my count from the June 27, 2025 adjournment is late September 2025; the statute page I link had not yet been updated with the new text when I read it, so read the enrolled bill alongside it.

Two limits. The section applies to insurers offering managed health or preferred provider organization plans and exempts health maintenance organizations, and the protections run narrower for a provider the insurer previously rejected or terminated for failing its standards, where the provider had a chance to respond to a peer review panel. Coordinated care organizations are governed by OAR 410-141-3510 instead, which sets the three-year cycle and the verification standard but no deadline for a decision.

Being listed is a duty, not a courtesy

Since plan years beginning January 1, 2022, the federal No Surprises Act has put obligations on both sides of the directory. Under 42 U.S.C. 300gg-115 a plan must verify its directory at least every 90 days, remove a provider it cannot verify, and update your entry within two business days of hearing from you. Under 42 U.S.C. 300gg-139 you must send the plan your directory information when the contract starts, when it ends, and whenever something material changes. Oregon's own rule, OAR 836-053-0350, requires an insurer to update each network plan directory at least monthly and to say how often it does. That is why payers now ask you to confirm your practice information every 30 days, or quarterly through a directory vendor; "paneled" has a compliance clock attached to it.

The Oregon wrinkle: one form for many organizations

Oregon adds a term of its own. The Advisory Committee on Physician Credentialing Information, created by a 1999 bill, maintains the Oregon Practitioner Credentialing Application and its recredentialing counterpart, so that a practitioner fills out one application instead of a different one for each plan and hospital. Despite the word "physician" in the committee's name, the form is the uniform credentialing application for practitioners generally. The next lesson covers what goes with it and where it is sent.

The words in one table

Six terms, what each means, and what shows it is done
TermWhat it meansWhat proves it
CredentialedA payer (or a verification organization working for it) has checked your license, education, and history against NCQA-style standards and its committee approved you.Written notice from the payer that credentialing is complete. Repeats at least every three years (OAR 410-141-3510 for CCOs; NCQA-based plans run the same cycle).
EnrolledYour identifying information is loaded into one specific payer's claims system. Medicare uses PECOS; OHP uses OHA forms under OAR 410-120-1260.The payer's enrollment approval, showing an effective date.
ContractedYou and the plan signed a network participation agreement with terms and rates.The countersigned agreement the plan returns to you.
PaneledTrade slang: contracted and listed on the plan's provider panel.Your name in the plan's provider directory, which the plan must verify every 90 days.
In-networkThe client-facing version of contracted, as the federal Uniform Glossary and ORS 743B.280 define it: a direct contract with the insurer.Claims paying at the in-network rate under your contract.
Out-of-networkNo contract with the plan. The starting state for every clinician with every plan.Nothing to prove; it is the default.

Where the words get used loosely

  • "Are you credentialed with them?" almost always means "are you contracted with them," because that is the answer the asker needs. Answer the question they meant, and know which one they asked.
  • "Paneled" and "in-network" are the same fact seen from two sides, the plan's list and the client's card. Neither appears in a rulebook, though the list itself now does.
  • "Enrolled" gets skipped in conversation about commercial plans and gets used exactly for Medicare and OHP, where it is a distinct application with its own form.
  • "Closed panel" means the plan has stopped contracting new clinicians in your specialty or area. You can still be credentialed by that plan; you cannot be paid by it until the panel reopens or an exception is made. Two Oregon payer pages said their outpatient behavioral health panels were closed or limited when I checked in September 2026.
  • "Credentialing period" is the statutory phrase, not slang. Under ORS 743B.454 it is the window, at most 90 days, in which a commercial insurer must decide and must still pay your claims.

When I describe my own status to another clinician, I try to say which step I am at, because the vague version has cost people months of unpaid sessions. "Credentialing came back, waiting on the contract" is a full sentence and it saves everyone a denial.

None of this is legal, tax, or accounting advice. I have described the steps as the glossaries, statutes, and standards bodies describe them and listed each page I checked with the date I read it; the payer's own contract and provider manual get the final word on what applies to you.

Sources

  1. Oregon Legislative Assembly. “ORS 743B.454, Claims submitted during credentialing period.” OregonLaws (Public.Law), Oregon Revised Statutes. History on the page ends at 2018 c.61; the 2025 amendment by HB 3242 was not yet reflected when read. https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_743b.454 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  2. 83rd Oregon Legislative Assembly. “Enrolled House Bill 3242 (2025 Regular Session), relating to credentialing of in-network providers.” Oregon Legislative Information System, May 13, 2025. Amends ORS 743B.454. Passed House 2025-03-10, Senate 2025-05-13; 2025 Oregon Laws chapter 126; effective the 91st day after sine die. Governor's signing date not verified. https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2025R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB3242 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  3. Oregon Legislative Assembly. “ORS 743B.280, Definitions (in-network, out-of-network).” OregonLaws (Public.Law), Oregon Revised Statutes. Formerly ORS 743.871; older statute, definitions unchanged. https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_743b.280 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  4. Oregon Health Authority. “OAR 410-141-3510, Provider credentialing (coordinated care organizations).” Oregon Secretary of State, Oregon Administrative Rules Database. Initial credentialing on contract, recredentialing no less than every three years, NPDB query, OPCA and OPRA accepted. https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/view.action?ruleNumber=410-141-3510 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  5. Oregon Health Authority. “OAR 410-120-1260, Provider Enrollment.” Oregon Secretary of State, Oregon Administrative Rules Database. Enrollment request, attachment, disclosure statement, and provider enrollment agreement; retroactive enrollment up to 12 months if licensed at time of service. https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/view.action?ruleNumber=410-120-1260 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  6. United States Congress. “42 U.S.C. 300gg-115, Provider directory information.” Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School. No Surprises Act; plan years beginning on or after 2022-01-01: verify directory at least every 90 days, update within two business days of provider notice. https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/300gg-115 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  7. United States Congress. “42 U.S.C. 300gg-139, Provider requirements to protect patients and improve the accuracy of provider directory information.” Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School. Providers must submit directory information at network start, termination, and material change. https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/300gg-139 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  8. Department of Consumer and Business Services, Division of Financial Regulation. “OAR 836-053-0350, Provider Directory Requirements for Network Adequacy.” Oregon Secretary of State, Oregon Administrative Rules Database. Directory updated at least monthly; applies to plans issued or renewed on or after 2017-01-01 (OAR 836-053-0300). An August 2025 rulemaking draft would revise wording. https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/view.action?ruleNumber=836-053-0350 (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  9. “NCQA's Credentialing Standards Ensure Safety and Integrity of Practitioner Networks.” National Committee for Quality Assurance. Describes what a credentialing review covers; the public page does not print the recredentialing interval. https://www.ncqa.org/blog/ncqas-credentialing-standards-ensure-safety-and-integrity-of-practitioner-networks/ (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  10. “Credentialing (health plan accreditation and certification programs).” National Committee for Quality Assurance. Distinguishes accredited credentialing organizations from certified verification organizations. https://www.ncqa.org/programs/health-plans/credentialing/ (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  11. “Provider Credentialing Explained.” DataSpring (formerly CAQH), Jan 1, 2021. Written in 2021, before the rename; older than 12 months. Day of month not stated. https://www.dataspring.com/blog/provider-credentialing-explained (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  12. “DataSpring FAQ and resources (CAQH Provider Data Portal).” DataSpring (formerly CAQH), Jun 7, 2026. Re-attest every 120 days (180 in Illinois); free of charge to providers; rebrand from CAQH announced 2026-06-07. https://www.dataspring.com/resources (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  13. “Glossary: Network.” HealthCare.gov, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. https://www.healthcare.gov/glossary/network/ (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  14. “Uniform Glossary of Health Coverage and Medical Terms.” Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Jan 1, 2020. January 2020 edition; older than 12 months. Day of month not stated. https://www.cms.gov/CCIIO/Resources/Forms-Reports-and-Other-Resources/Downloads/Uniform-Glossary-01-2020.pdf (accessed Sep 24, 2026).
  15. “Advisory Committee on Physician Credentialing Information.” Oregon Health Authority. https://www.oregon.gov/oha/hpa/ohit-acpci/pages/index.aspx (accessed Sep 24, 2026).

Oregon Cities

Specialties

Therapy Modalities

Alternative Therapies

Oregon Advantage

Oregon leads the nation in access to psychedelic-assisted and integrative mental health therapies.

View all Oregon therapies →